The Paris Principles

UN Photo / Jean-Marc Ferré

The Paris Workshop, held in 1991, was a first step in the development of standards for NHRIs. These were subsequently endorsed by the UN General Assembly in 1993 (Resolution A/RES/48/134) and are generally referred to as “the Paris Principles”.

The Paris Principles set out six main criteria that NHRIs are required to meet:

  • A broad mandate, based on universal human rights norms and standards;
  • Autonomy from government;
  • Independence;
  • Pluralism;
  • Adequate resources; and
  • Adequate powers of investigation.

To clarify further the contemporary content and scope of the Paris Principles, the SCA develops General Observations . The General Observations are regularly updated and reflect established practice of the SCA on common and important interpretative issues concerning the implementation and application of the Paris Principles.

To find out about the process for an NHRI to become accredited in accordance with the Paris Principles and how ENNHRI can help, visit our page on NHRI Accreditation.